Take Action

JOIN the JPW Update e-mail list by sending a request to Jacksonparkwatch@gmail.com. JPW coordinators Brenda Nelms and Margaret Schmid can be reached at this e-address.

SHARE the link to this website – http://jacksonparkwatch.org – with friends, neighbors, and organizations, anyone who might be or should be interested.

LIKE AND SHARE the Jackson Park Watch Facebook page.

CONTACT Alderman Leslie Hairston to support her leadership in working for one, community-driven comprehensive plan for the entire Park. Leave a message with her Fifth Ward office at 773-324-5555, or e-mail her at ward05@cityofchicago.org.

ASK the Obama Foundation to publicly call for a comprehensive plan for Jackson Park and to coordinate its planning for the Obama Presidential Center with that process. E-mail Obama Foundation Vice-President for Civic Engagement Michael Strautmanis at mstrautmanis@obamapresidentialfoundation.org. Submit your comments at https://www.obama.org/your-voice/.

TELL the Park District that it has a responsibility to spearhead a comprehensive planning process for Jackson Park – a process that must include substantive community input – BEFORE any work begins on any of the major projects now under consideration. Send your message to Park District CEO Michael Kelly Michael.Kelly@chicagoparkdistrict.com and Park District Board President Jesse Ruiz at Jesse.Ruiz@dbr.com.

WRITE letters to the editor of the Hyde Park Herald with comments and questions at Letters@hpherald.com. They are an important way to air community concerns.